Roane State EMS awards announced

Rebecca Abner, in Roane State’s third semester paramedic program, has been named “EMT of the Year” for Anderson County EMS and is pictured with Anderson County EMS Director Nathan Sweet.
Students and alumni of Roane State’s Knox County Center for Health Sciences continue to win honors and recognition for their job performance and leadership.

Rebecca Abner, who will graduate this summer during the third semester paramedic program at Roane State, has been named “EMT of the Year” for Anderson County EMS.

Brittanie Kimsey, a 2010 graduate of Roane State’s paramedic program, has been selected as “Paramedic of the Year” for Monroe County EMS.

The awards were given by the respective EMS departments during National EMS Week last month.

“She (Abner) is a vital part of our service,” said Danny McCreary, deputy director of operations for Anderson County EMS. “She’s very outgoing and loves to help people,” he said. “She always steps up when help is needed.”

Both McCreary and Anderson EMS Director Nathan Sweet are Roane State alumni.

Abner is “very outgoing and loves to help people,” McCreary said of the Anderson County resident. “She always steps up when help is needed.”

Monroe County EMS Director Gary Smith called Kimsey “one of the best paramedics we have in the service.”

He said Kimsey is a Monroe County resident who has been with the county’s EMS for three years. “She is very clinically sound in everything she does,” Smith said.

David Blevins, Roane State’s paramedic program director, said Kimsey is “a well-respected preceptor providing guidance to the EMT, Advanced EMT and Paramedic students going through our programs.”

To learn more about Roane State’s EMT and paramedic programs, visit or contact David Blevins at (865) 354-3000 ext. 4768 or