Mavs load up on post season honors

  • Anderson County’s Gavin Now was named Region 2 4-A MVP. And he’s only a junior. - Ken Leinart

  • Thor Williams was named to the Region 2 4-A All Region team. - Ken Leinart

The football season did not end the way the Anderson County Mavericks had hoped, but numerous Mavs have been honored for their work this season.

The recognition started at the top as Head Coach Davey Gillum was named Region 2 4-A Coach of the Year and Jon Chadwell was named Region 2 4-A Assistant Coach of the Year.

Junior running back Gavin Noe was named Region MVP and junior receiver Bryson Vowell was named Region Offensive Specialist.

Sophomore linebacker Nick Moog was named Region Newcomer of the Year.

Other Mavs named to the All-Region 2 4-A team include:

● Tate Russell (junior, safety)

● Thor Williams (senior, safety)

● Garrison Terry (senior, cornerback)

● Walker Martinez (junior, quarterback)

● Zachary Shannon (senior, tight end)

● Sully Sexton (senior, offensive line)

● Eli Davis (junior, linebacker)

● Braden Miller (junior wide receiver)

● Jacob Workman (senior, offensive line)

● Kaleb Livingston (senior, linebacker)

● Eli Nelson (sophomore, offensive line)

In addition, Sexton and Shannon were selected to play in the Tennessee Toyota East-West All-Star Game.

Workman and Terry were selected to play in the Rivalry Thursday All-Star Game in Oak Ridge.