Anderson County cross country competes in ‘home’ meet

  • Anderson County’s Ava Moody was the 4th place finisher in Thursday nights Norris Dam Invitational 5,000 meter race. Moody posted a season best time of 19:30.00. - Tony Cox

  • Anderson County’s Jaxon Taylor posted a season best 19:52.00 and finished 47th overall in the Norris Dam Invitational Cross Country meet. - Tony Cox

  • Juliet Avila was the second Dragons girl to cross the finish line at the Norris Invitational cross country race. Avila complete the 5,000 meter course with a time of 25:15.00 and was the 62nd overall finisher. - Tony Cox

  • Clinton’s Noah Ortiz was the second Dragons runner to finish the Norris Invitational cross country course. Ortiz posted a season best 19:56.00 and finished 48th overall. - Tony Cox

Some familiar surroundings helped athletes on the Anderson County High School cross country teams post some stellar times. The Mavericks and Lady Mavericks competed at the race course at Norris Dam, their adopted home course.

“It’s definitely our home course,” ACHS Coach Derek Wallace said after his teams competed Thursday. “We work out there three times a week, and the kids take a whole lot of pride in running there.

“It was a really good day.”

The Lady Mavericks had two runners complete the course in less than 20 minutes. Ava Moody was Anderson County’s top finisher in the girls race as she crossed the finish line in 19 minutes, 30 seconds. Kaitlyn Fisher finished the race in 19:38. Megan Haire posted a time of 21:33. Marley Caldwell finished in 21:41.

Emily Boring recorded a time 23:18. Sydney Day crossed the finish line in 24:38 and Morgan Lindsey completed the race course in 24:42.

In the boys race, Conner Chandler was the top finisher for Anderson County as he crossed the finish line in under 18 minutes, posting a time of 17 minutes, 57 seconds. Vance Laster posted a time of 18:03. Ethan Bolton completed the course in 19:30.

Jaxon Taylor finished in 19:52. Toby Day posted a time of 21:42. Michael Mattson crossed the line in 22:24 and Johnathan Arsenault finished in 23:04.